New Oscott Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.


Children learning in Nursery and Reception classes are known as the Early Years Foundation Stage or EYFS for short.  We follow the statutory EYFS framework for teaching and development.  This stage is very important in a child’s life as it helps prepare for school ‘readiness’ as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.

Children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development, these are split into Prime and Specific areas.

Children start developing in the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development 

These prime areas are essential for a child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We implement these areas of learning by providing a safe, stimulating environment that allows children to discover, be challenged, and achieve their very best whilst developing their resilience and independence. Here at New Oscott Primary, we have carefully considered the components which make up our bespoke Early Years curriculum.

Click here to see our EYFS NOPS Curriculum Wheel

Through a combination of adult-led sessions and child-initiated activities children are exposed to a managed balance of supported learning and independent investigation.  Using the seven areas of learning, we have developed curriculum goals for each year. These are the goals we want each child to reach at the end of Nursery or Reception.

Click here to see Our Nursery Goals

Click here to see Our Reception Goals

Throughout all of these areas of learning and at the heart of the EYFS Curriculum are the ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’. We strive to develop these key characteristics of ‘Playing and Learning’, ‘Active Learning’ and ‘Thinking Critically’ in order to give the children the skills that they will continue to draw upon throughout their development. Here at New Oscott Primary, we use ‘Learning Dinosaurs’ to promote each characteristic.

Click to find out more about our Learning Dinosaurs.